Loading Geo-Ref plates

MolsonB
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:53 am

Loading Geo-Ref plates

Post by MolsonB »

Can we load our own Geo-Ref plates? And by our own, I mean I can extract them from the Avare app. Which they are free there. Showing the airplane over the taxiway is a big bonus for me with the airport diagrams.

Are you expecting .tiff format? Same folder format as normal charts?
MolsonB
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:53 am

Re: Loading Geo-Ref plates

Post by MolsonB »

Interesting. The free FAA approach plates (pdf) have been geo-referenced for a few years now. Their airport diagrams are still not though. I'm trying out a script for that process.

Might have some outdated info here.
http://grtavionics.com/home/navigation- ... x-and-hxr/

I can't physically test this till end of Jan when I head back to working on the plane, but what format is GRT looking for? pdf, tiff, png ?
GRT_Jeff
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Loading Geo-Ref plates

Post by GRT_Jeff »

The only georeferencing we support at the moment is Seattle Avionics, which is proprietary and kept in a separate database from the plate files. The FAA added georeferencing to some of their PDF's using a geospatial PDF standard. We have not added support for that in the EFIS.
MolsonB
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:53 am

Re: Loading Geo-Ref plates

Post by MolsonB »

Okay, that means I can stop trying to learn Perl tonight. lol.
Ah that's to bad about the FAA support.
I'll stick to using Android tablet then for mapping.
MolsonB
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:53 am

Re: Loading Geo-Ref plates

Post by MolsonB »

It would be nice to be able to load the FAA plates though. If you come up with a format, I could re-write the perl script to accommodate for everyone.
tommylewis
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: Loading Geo-Ref plates

Post by tommylewis »

On a related topic, displaying approach plates. I live on a private airpark, 0TX1, that recently got a private GPS approach. Private means that while the approach is in the Garmin and Avidyne units, the approach plate is not, nor is it in Seattle Avionics or Foreflight. I have a pdf copy of the approach and would like to display it on my HX. I know it is not geoj-ref. I tried putting it in a plates folder in the 0TX1 folder. No luck. Is there a way to make this work? I do have Seattle Avionics which work well but FAA does not allow them to include private GPS approaches.
GRT_Jeff
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Loading Geo-Ref plates

Post by GRT_Jeff »

You would put it in \Plates\0TX1\ but you can't currently mix PDF and SA plates. The EFIS will only use one source and it will look for SA first in Auto mode.
MolsonB
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:53 am

Re: Loading Geo-Ref plates

Post by MolsonB »

Since we have some time on our hands now. I could learn Perl.

Is there any future that GRT will handle geospatial PDF standard?
GRT_Jeff
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Loading Geo-Ref plates

Post by GRT_Jeff »

It's possible. We just don't have enough time for a long while. We've thought about including the airport diagrams though, and it might help with those. If we implemented it we would read the data out of the PDF files. There's nothing to change in the script.
MolsonB
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:53 am

Re: Loading Geo-Ref plates

Post by MolsonB »

I was thinking more of the lines of creating a better front end, for the average user that just wants to point and click. Something in VB.
I tried the script a few months back, and it didn't work as-is. Didn't really dive into Perl so see what was going on though.
Post Reply