Login    Register
  • Author
    Message

garmin 430 to the grt autopilot

Postby Hobart sanzo » Thu May 01, 2014 8:01 pm

I would like to hear from anyone that is using a garmin 430 with the GRT Autopilot. I have some issues havent had time to do test fliying lately . But I have started to see some simularities to the problem I am experincing.I test the system by putting a user flight plan in the 430. This is it.( KVAY HEKLE KEBLE N81)Simple!!
Autopilot set to GNAV, 430 to GPS. Set altitude to 2500 . Depart kvay aproach HEKLE aircraft cuts the turn ok( Left turn )on to KEBLE Aproaches the right turn to n81 the first indication I get is a clicking to the left not the right . Sometimes it will pick up the turn and start to the right as it should. Somtimes it will totally miss the turn and go to outer space. The one thing I am noticing when this happens is that the 430 shows a slight off course to the right as it approacheas HEKLE. The cliking to the left may be the system trying tto get on course thenI think the transition to to right turn gets screwed up sometimes it makes it somtimes not. The initial flight is good it picks up the course turns on course and initially is right on course. Does fairly well on heading mode although once it did loose its mind but I can remember only once wich might have been a fluke. I still use the autopilot it does ok straight flight most of the time. holds altitude fine.
Hobart sanzo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:36 am

Re: garmin 430 to the grt autopilot

Postby Bobturner » Thu May 01, 2014 9:05 pm

A few questions: you said 430, did you mean 430W, or do you have a non WAAS unit?
What EFIS? Is the ARINC connection from 430(W?) to EFIS hooked up?
Suggestion: turn display to flight director. Then you can see what the EFIS is commanding.
Fly again. Just prior to the problem right turn, does the 430 give a turn anticipation message ("turn right to 123 in 5....4...3...2..1...turn now")? Does the FD show a turn commanded as the countdown hits zero, more or less?
The answers will help narrow the problem. BTW, it is very unusual to have the problem sometimes, not other times, unless there are loose and intermittant connections.
Bobturner
 
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:34 pm

Re: garmin 430 to the grt autopilot

Postby Hobart sanzo » Fri May 02, 2014 6:04 am

Thanks for the reply
It is a 430 w connected via arince . I do use flight director usually the problem accurs when Im not. When I want to see it , it gets stubbern and flies ok. Do you have the same set up. I did send in recordings . But if we are talking comunication problems I thought the recordings should show somthing. Im trying to just get a direction to go in. The peculiar part is that I actualluy see clicks to the left then it may or may not make the turn. And when it goes off I thought it should still attemmpt to inersept the course .The last time it really lost its mind i didnt have flight director on. I know I have to do more flying. If its a loose connection I can fix it. Ive worked in communications and worked as an instrument tech for BASF. I installed this system in my airplane and in another rv6( with no problems) and recomended it to others. I know how to trouble shoot I know I just dont know enough about the system. Can an arince problem cause this can a magnetometer problem cause this. I need to be able to isolate these things if there is a connection problem. At some point I would like to talk to Jeff if possible. Thanks again for your reply I am going to try and hit this problem again. As I said i do still use the ap but usually just heading. I would like to know everything that I bought works. I did this post to see if anyone had anything remotely like this happening.
Hobart sanzo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:36 am

Re: garmin 430 to the grt autopilot

Postby Hobart sanzo » Fri May 02, 2014 6:06 am

sorry The efis is a sport sx with sv and autopilot
Hobart sanzo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:36 am

Re: garmin 430 to the grt autopilot

Postby Hobart sanzo » Sun May 04, 2014 4:21 pm

Further information I just flew the same course. The was no turbulence air was like glass. My speed was 140 knots. The auto pilot performed flawlessly. The 430w gave me turn to message and turn now. This is starting to point to either something changing during more turbulent conditions or possibly intermittant connection. I'm noticing some crosstrack errors just before the turn at times. Ihave tried increased crosstrack settings . Most of my settings are close to default now. This is why I was looking for someone with an rv7a with my set up.
Hobart sanzo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:36 am

Return to Autopilot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron