EIS audio out

Post Reply
Clam
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 1:10 pm

EIS audio out

Post by Clam »

Trying to understand & use EIS audio out. Configuration: HXr & EIS & PAR100EX. First question, can I use HXr audio output for engine sensor alarms and not bother with EIS audio out? If that's a no, how do I wire EIS audio? Manual only shows audio out line on wiring Fig 5a, does not show an audio lo (gnd), and has no audio discussion elsewhere in manual. Anyone have any input?
Goal is to have some engine limits trigger audio alarms.
Jeff
RV-8 Memphis, TN (KFYE)
jb.flynavy@gmail.com
GRTBen
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:19 pm

Re: EIS audio out

Post by GRTBen »

Jeff

If you use the EIS audio output it will only give you EIS warned limit breaks. which is what you want I think. If you use the EFIS audio output it will warn all alarms engine and flight related. If you are blind mounting the EIS you wont have the ability to acknowledge the warning and the tone would stay on until you get it back into parameter. If it were me i would be blind mounting and using the EFIS tone for all the warnings.

Should be soon for the EFIS audio. i thought it was this release but i guess it will have to wait.
GRTBen
Tech Support
GRT Avionics
User avatar
Kahuna
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:04 am
Location: Gold Hill, NC NC25
Contact:

Re: EIS audio out

Post by Kahuna »

Hmm. I read the release notes for the HXr and I dont see it.
Am I crazy?
Kahuna
S8 , Team AeroDynamix,
Facebook,Track Me
Gold Hill, NC25
Clam
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 1:10 pm

Re: EIS audio out

Post by Clam »

Thnx. I am mounting the EIS on the panel, but an iPad ( or Android tablet if that comes to fruition) will overlay it when I need charts & pubs ( or a movie).

Will the HXr have a similar ACK function? Or maybe an input for a remote ack switch?
Jeff
RV-8 Memphis, TN (KFYE)
jb.flynavy@gmail.com
flyguy0812
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 4:47 am

Re: EIS audio out

Post by flyguy0812 »

What is the output of the EIS audio out? Volts, etc.
dingdong
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 5:40 am

Re: EIS audio out

Post by dingdong »

Hmm. I read the release notes for the HXr and I dont see it.
psychose
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:14 pm

Re: EIS audio out

Post by psychose »

Hello Ben,

Any more news on the Audio out function on HXr? How do we wire the Audio Lo input on the Audio Panel (in my case PMA5000EX)?

Thnx,

Normand RV8 cockpit
maniago
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:34 pm

Re: EIS audio out

Post by maniago »

I dont see an answer on the Audio Lo here, and no where else inthe docs.

So is there an answer?......or does everyone not bother with this and just let the EFIS (HXR in mycase) do all the audio alerts?
Bobturner
Posts: 421
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:34 pm

Re: EIS audio out

Post by Bobturner »

maniago wrote:I dont see an answer on the Audio Lo here, and no where else inthe docs.

So is there an answer?......or does everyone not bother with this and just let the EFIS (HXR in mycase) do all the audio alerts?
“Audio Lo” offers some additional ground loop protection, but if you don’t have one at both ends just use a convenient ground close to the audio hi. e.g., connect audio panel audio lo to a ground on the grt, as close as possible to audio out. If you use shielded cable with two wires inside the braid (best) use one wire for audio hi, one wire for audio lo (or ground), and connect the shield to the audio panel ground only. Leave the other end of the shield trimmed and unattached.

I do not use the EIS audio. Using the HX audio gets me not only engine warnings but also traffic (from adsb-in) warnings.
For testing, I ran a pair of wires (audio out plus ground) out from the back of the efis to an 1/8” phone plug, which I plug into the music input on my headphone’s battery box (Lightspeed). I like it. One of these days I’ll hard wire it to a pilot-only input on my “audio panel”.
maniago
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:34 pm

Re: EIS audio out

Post by maniago »

Thanks Bob, I'll just skip it. I'm using shielded cable, and tho lot a long run at all, meh, one less cable......
Post Reply